How I Wish More Series Ended

I’m sure that we’ve all been here before. You’ve finished a series! Yes! And the Author has been kind enough to tie up all those loose ends! How kind of them! You’re probably thrilled. I admit, I love when this happens. However, life doesn’t always get a nice wrap, complete with shiny wrapping paper, and a nice big bow on top.

I wish more authors left us with loose ends, and broken hearts. What made me think of this? Or just about this topic? Last night I finished Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab, and I cried.

Which really isn’t all that unusual. I went in knowing I was probably going to cry at the end. I was expecting them to be “Oh man! That series was so great!” tears. And they were that, but they were also tears of ‘Why did -insert name here- die?’

It wasn’t wrapped up nicely. And that’s fitting for books about wars. Really, all it comes down to is that it doesn’t matter what side you fight for. People die. there are no “real winners.” I think Victoria did a fantastic job with it.

I also hope that George RR Martin will leave me with the same feeling when that last book finally gets released. Or probably more accurately… I hope thats the same thing season 8 leaves me with. A wrap up that’s real. Not a gift.

Spoilers under the read more. proceed at your own risk. MAJOR spoilers for the ending of Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

In the span of a few pages, both Ilsa and Kate were dead. And nobody was prepared for it. Not even August had expected to watch Ilsa go dark, and then after crumble, and turn to ash. -Victoria, that was genius use of foreshadow. The sugar tasting like ash- sorry, I just realized that as I was typing.

Kate died soon after. And it hurt. But thats life as a soldier… Sometimes your friends, comrades, family. They die. Suddenly, and thats the grim reality of war. It’s over in an instant. But at least they both went out fighting.

Author: Grlonkindlefire

Hey! My name is Britt and I spend a good chunk of my life talking about various books and Game of Thrones!

Leave a Reply

